New Guy - looking for input on purchase

WetKnight

Cadet
Hi Folks!

I am looking for some input from experienced boaters. I am new to boating and have been reading up on it; my neighbours all own boats so I know that opinions are plentiful, but nevertheless...

I am looking for a bowrider and selection in general is limited where I am (Maritimes, Canada). I have a family of four (altogether) so we are looking for something that will comfortably move 8 (friends and us)... here is what I have so far - listed in order of preference:

2004 208 Si Monterey Bowrider - 200 hrs, 5L Merc - extended swimming platform and other options
2011 Stingray Bowrider 185LS - 3L Merc (unsure of hours) - has 3 years warranty remaining

2007 Seaswirl 175 Bowrider - about 120 hours - 3.0 Volva Penta
2005 Glaston 195 SX - 20 hours - Volvo Penta GL
2003 Campion 645 - 200 hours - 4.3 Merc

Thanks!

Last edited:

greenbush future

Lieutenant Commander
I'm not really clear on the specific boat choices you have posted up, but my opinion would be that even at 23 feet long, you will be packed in like sardines after you include any coolers or other items along with 8 people. It take a little bit more room than a 17-20 foot boat has, to accommodate all those people you suggest. I would say 4 people is a good # for boats under 20 feet. And yes you can fit more than 4 in a sub 20 foot boat, just thinking about being comfortable.Heck, have fun making the selection, welcome to boating.

WetKnight

Cadet
Thanks for the welcome :)

"Comfortably" moving 8 people does indeed require a larger boat, but really, the vast majority of times it'll be my wife, myself and my kids and their friends... so all those should do that pretty well...

Yes, I realize my choices aren't huge (the Campion is 23', the Monterey 20' and the other two are 17 and 19'). I suppose I should have explained what I am looking for a little better!