In need of an opinion.

jmxan

Cadet
Hello all, I'm new here to the forum as well as to boating.
I'm currently in the process of picking up a 12' aluminum boat.
Being that I am new to all of this I have a couple of questions
to ask you all.

At the moment I'm looking at a boat that I can not find out anything
about online. Its a 12 foot v 'nichols' aluminum boat the guy says its water ready.
The seller
claimed it was a '71. It actually says 'nichols' on the rear sides of the
boat.

Also, there's a small dent on the front right side of the boat as can be
seen in the attached picture.

Snapchat-20140724033545.jpg

My concern with this dent, is how it's
dented on/over the rivets on the side of the boat. Being that it's
dented in such a manner, is this the kind of dent that's going to
cause me issues after continued use? Basically I'm asking
if such a dent would prevent you from buying this boat.

It also comes with a 6hp suzuki 4 stroke outboard motor. I did a little
research and it appears to be a 2005. Has anyone ever had
any past experience with small suzuki outboards?

I know I've asked a lot here, but if anyone has any input it'll be greatly
appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Snapchat-20140724033545.jpg
    Snapchat-20140724033545.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 0

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner
fetch

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner
i'm not the tin expert here, but I don't think it should cause much concern.

2 Eagles

Petty Officer 1st Class
Welcome. As long as none of the rivets are loose your fine. If the rivets are loose you need to replace them or seal them so they don't leak.

jmxan

Cadet
Welcome. As long as none of the rivets are loose your fine. If the rivets are loose you need to replace them or seal them so they don't leak.

Thanks for the reply. I don't know yet if they leak, but so long as I now know replacing/sealing the rivet's is a viable option I'm starting to gain some confidence.

jmxan

Cadet