Installing captain chairs

martys

Cadet
I want to remove the lounge seats from my boat and install captain chairs. This is my first time installing the base for the chairs. What is the best way of securing the base to the fiberglass floor?

bayman

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Installing captain chairs

Martys, are we to assume that the seats are installed outside and thus not going to be protected from the weather and elements. That can be a big factor in what measures are taken when installing the chairs properly.<br /><br />I recommend this article when installing hardware such as this:<br /> http://www.yachtsurvey.com/hardware_attachments.htm

swist

Captains' chairs can be difficult to install - the moment generated by the weight of a person at the end of a pedestal causes a lot of force at the mounting bolts.<br /><br />1) They have to be through-bolted through a large backing plate of heavy plywood or metal with large scale quality fasteners. If you can't get to the underside of the deck at that location, forget it.<br /><br />2) Some boat decks are thin to begin with on elcheapo brands, or have become soft over time with water incursion. Regardless of backing plates etc, you can still rip a pedestal chair out if the deck is not solid/sound.<br /><br />An alternative if it can't be mounted properly is to use the kind that come with a storage box below. This gives you a much larger contact area with the deck. And the bending moment is much shorter (and presumably properly addressed by the manufacturer since the pedestal mounts to their own box).

Bondo

Staff member

And,<br />Make SURE it's the Floor,+ Not the Hull you'll be Drilling though............... ;)

18rabbit

Captain