1973 Crestliner Muskie 15

NPmechanic

Recruit
Hey everyone, I am new to the forum and a real newbie at boating. A little info about myself, I am an automotive technician still in college.

Family just brought an old used boat, a 1973 Crestliner Muskie 15 with a 50 hp Force outboard (haven't yet figured out the year of the motor) for $1500 total that includes life jackets, fishing poles and other accessories, and just cleaned most of the junk and dirt inside that came with the boat. Never put it in the water yet, looking forward to it! but I wanted to make sure I checked out everything thoroughly before putting it in the water. I have a lot of questions that needs answered and lots of ideas that I need help with planning it out in the future.

1. obviously I need to find out the year of the 50 hp Force motor, anyone know how I can find out? The sticker on the motor is completely faded and whatever number was there before is gone now.

2. I have skimp through the forum about buying old used boats, one thing that caught my attention is the floor and transom rotting concerns. The floor does feel soft all over but its not exactly flat, I can feel the plywood itself that isn't leveled out where two ends joins and it moves up and down a bit as I walk over it. I am not really looking to spend $1000 on replacing the floor and transom this year or the next even. So not really a question but any tips as to how I can be careful without destroying the boat before I can restore the floor and transom if needed.

3. other thing I found out about skimping through the forum is that whatever holes are made in the floor has to be sealed properly. when I removed the drivers seat and passengers bench and seat, it looked like it was all homemade and used whatever screws they could find in the garage to screw the seats to the floor and the bottom part of the screws are rusted. should I be concerned?