Speed and best use help?

JoshOnt

Chief Petty Officer
I am fairly new to power boating on my own, I bought a boat last year and got some great advice from these forms how to fix it after it got sunk due to rain and a failed bilge pump. This yeas I fixed a few things fiberglassesed it a bit in places and installed all new electrical. Now I am wondering what kind of speeds do you think I can get with it and the best way to get the most out of my gas. It is a 14 foot run about, with a 50 on the back ( rated for a 30 but 50 came with the boat) I will have about 6 gallons of fuel, 100-250 pounds of people and gear on at the most. Any ideas on speed and best way to use the boat? I just enjoy being on the water and like doing different things out there.

drrpm

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Its hard to make a useful comment with such limited information. The fact that it sank, is overpowered and needed fiber glass repair would make me reluctant to go out in it at all. I think that your estimatated load of 100-250 lbs is low unless you are very small or not planning on going with anyone else. Knowing the brand and model or at least hull design beyond run about might also help.

Slip Away

Lieutenant
Just take it out on the water, do different things, mash the throttle down, hold it there for 6.32 minutes, use your smartphone GPS speed App and verify top speed.
Then you will have answered all your questions in one short ride. Priceless.

southkogs

Staff member
^^^ LOL :D

Depending on the age and hull design, a 14' closed bow runabout with a 35HP should be around a 30MPH boat. You're about doubling the HP, which probably won't make it go that much faster (power doesn't equal speed with boats). However, a lot of those older hulls were a little tippy in design. On ours, a full throttle turn even at 25 or 30 could stick a gunwale nearly in the water. Be careful you don't over torque when turning.

SigSaurP229

Commander