Drinking water from the water storage tank

Gullsea

Recruit
Hi all,
I am a Dutch newbie on this forum, but I?m kicking off with my burning question straight away?
This summer I'm going to hit the water for a few weeks with my "new" boat with 150 litre water tank, and I'm really afraid I will get sick on board due to drinking contaminated water :blue: Does anyone here has the same fear, and if so, what do you do to prevent getting sick :confused:

In the Dutch boating scene people are usually pretty easygoing when it comes to the safety of water on board (for drinking, showering, cleaning, etc..) Well, I am certainly not a coward, but prevention is better than cure ... I am curious what your opinion is when it comes to using filters (membrane / carbon / UV / etc) and adding chemicals to the fresh water tank

Thanks in advance for your reply!

Gyrene

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Drinking water from the water storage tank

I got dysentery in Vietnam, and I don't recommend it...
If you boil the water for tea or coffee, you'll be fine.
I also have read they have filters now for use by campers - might want to look into those.

tpenfield

Staff member

We bring the drinking water aboard in bottles. . . Use the water tank system for everything else.

H20Rat

Vice Admiral

I don't trust the plastic in older boat systems, or even newer ones for that matter. Tons of chemicals that leech out, BPA and others. My rule of thumb is that water storage tanks are for non-potable use only, drinking/cooking water is bottled.

Gullsea

Recruit

I got dysentery in Vietnam, and I don't recommend it...
If you boil the water for tea or coffee, you'll be fine.
I also have read they have filters now for use by campers - might want to look into those.

We bring the drinking water aboard in bottles. . . Use the water tank system for everything else.