Need advice in negotiating boat price with dealer

drolaw

Cadet
New here and was hoping I could get some advice from those who are experienced in negotiating with boat dealers.

Is there a magic % that I know I could negotiate with? Here's my current situation. I currently have a 2011 Tahoe Q5i and have been boating the last three seasons and the wife and I love it. Now that we know we're gonna continue to go boating we looked to upgrade. The boat we like is the Cobalt 220 which is perfect for me and the misses. The MSRP (never pay that I know) is $70,000.00 with the options we picked. Normally when I buy something I'll immediately take 20% off the ticket price and give an offer below that hoping to meet in the middle.

Here are the numbers:

MSRP = 70,000
20% = $14,000

What I think is a good deal = $55,000.00 with the 20 hour and 50 hour maintenance free

Each deal is different but I'm not experienced in buying from boat dealers so this is new territory for me. I figured/hoping there are some people on this forum who could steer me in the right direction.

Slip Away

Lieutenant
Re: Need advice in negotiating boat price with dealer

If the 220 you are looking at is a 2014, it would be a crazy deal if you could get it for $55K. My guess is $62K is about as low as dealer will go, but you can at least try.

agallant80

Commander

20% off of MSRP may be doable but 20% off of the dealer price will be a bit heavy. Have you got a price from a dealer yet or just a price from the website? If it helps the price of my stingray was about $43,000 on the website I paid $36,000 including trailer at the dealer. So it was about 17% less than the website and the trailer was "free" in that equation.

drolaw

Cadet