Starcraft 210 scx ob crossover , how will it handle ocean use?..

Brad1212

Recruit
:)Hi, I have been boating for 15 years, I have always had fishing boats. Currently I have sea fox and love it. I was at a boat show and the guys who I have bought boats from show me the new star craft, it has the comfort of a deckboat but the front of a bow rider, it also has a outboard engine. I have been told that it can do more than intercostal cruising, but I am nervous as this is a newer model. Does anyone have any advise on how this boat will perform on the ocean? Thanks

Slip Away

Lieutenant
Re: Starcraft 210 scx ob crossover , how will it handle ocean use?..

It's not a blue water boat. It's made for inland lakes and rivers. Keep looking if you want something for the ocean.

crabby captain john

Lieutenant Commander

I'd be nervous too if considering taking it on the ocean too. Hey~~ I've seen pontoons out 3 miles,,, people do silly things.

dan02gt

Chief Petty Officer

I doubt it has a self bailing deck so any wave taken over the bow has the potential to swamp the boat in a hurry. I would be scared to take it in ocean too, but that's just me.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

for one thing "ocean" can mean many different things depending on where you start from, how far you go and how quickly you can get back to sheltered water--which is NOT the same as "shore." I can cruise along a mile from shore but have 60 miles between inlets.

Some ocean water is relatively smooth even with big swells; they are easier to handle than chop in a shallow open bay. Some have crazy currents and some don't. Some inlets or other access are easy; some are dangerous; many switch from one to the other without warning.

The skill of the captain is almost as important as the design of the boat; with your experience you should know your limitations.