Anchor winch/windless for 20" walkaround?

rothfm

Ensign
I have no knowledge or experience with these devices. Hoping someone who actually does in this type boat can wiegh in.

I fish mostly Solo, saltwater in New England waters. I would like to stay off the bow most of the time when anchoring(usually choppy waters). I am interested in the ability to drop anchor from the cockpit remotely and on retrieve. I wouldnt mind a fast run and back to the bow to secure it etc... but the ability to stay safe and dry would be a huge plus for me safety-wise.

Anyone use them as such, and can make any mfg recommendations. Currently my setup is just a foward locker containing the rope and anchor/chain rode with no pulpit or hardware.

Thanks

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Re: Anchor winch/windless for 20" walkaround?

The first thing you need is a bow pulpit of some type.
A lot of the guys are running the Lewmar pro sport 700 windlass

crabby captain john

Lieutenant Commander

I'd like one for my 21' cuddy too but the cost installed is over 2 grand.

rothfm

Ensign

Thanks Dingbat...I have a large marine salvage yard near me and am going to go hunting. I'll be doing whatever myself so installation costs are minimul.

Will look at that model. Hope I have the room in my front locker.

JoLin

Vice Admiral

Will look at that model. Hope I have the room in my front locker.

That's the key, and I'll bet you don't. For a windlass you need free-fall distance of a foot or more inside the locker so that the rode can pull itself down without backing up and jamming the fleming and gipsy. If you use chain, you need special stuff (like G4) spliced directly to the line (no shackle permitted between the line and chain).

I'd be looking at a winch, which rolls the rode onto a drum. Much cheaper, too. Minnkota, Powerwinch and Trac all make them.

My .02

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

Powerwinch Sport Fish 450