aluminum boat as antenna

petreaux1

Cadet
Since my boat is aluminum can I run antenna wire from back of am/fm receiver directly to hull and thus make it a big floating antenna? I don't want a traditional vertical antenna because it gets in the way. Anybody ever try it?

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: aluminum boat as antenna

Never tried and I wouldn't. All you'll do is ground your antenna.

matt167

Captain

Yea, it will work and it will work well BUT. It could also introduce voltage to the aluminum which will cause electrolysis and actually corrode it

SolingSailor

Petty Officer 2nd Class

You just gotta try it. Could be good, maybe not. No harm to try.
I'm a former commercial radio engineer, and I think it's not supposed to work, but I also think no one can predict your results.
Don't forget to try a wire hanger. Could be better.

GA_Boater

Yea, it will work and it will work well BUT. It could also introduce voltage to the aluminum which will cause electrolysis and actually corrode it

Are you sure? The motor is electrical ground and through the mounting bolts, the hull is electrical ground as well. Put a meter between the battery ground and the hull and it will show a short. A grounded antenna won't work.

jestor68

Commander

Are you sure? The motor is electrical ground and through the mounting bolts, the hull is electrical ground as well. Put a meter between the battery ground and the hull and it will show a short. A grounded antenna won't work.

Could that be the reason auto antennas have rubber/plastic washers isolating the antenna from the metal body?

Last edited:

GA_Boater

Could that be the reason auto antennas have rubber/plastic washers isolating the antenna from the metal body?

Mainly to seal the hole. The mounting part of the antenna is grounded to the coax shield of the antenna lead. But the aerial/mast portion is isolated from ground or it wouldn't work.

matt167

Captain