Is the bow eye on your aluminum boat wearing out?

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Mine was. I tried several local professional welders and couldn't get any bites. I have a farm so I have several types of welders. I tried gas and MIG. Both were a total disappointment. Problem was heat sinking and thickness of the eye cooled off the joint before you could make it, even if you pre-heated the joint like the Jr. College welding text I borrowed told me.

I tried a $20 half # of Zeus alum. welding rods and they did the trick. I used the 3/32" and cranked the amps up to 90 and they did real good, considering you are welding cast alum, with a hugh heat sink, it's in a vertical position, and I am not a professional welder, skilled in any of it, especially blobbing aluminum. The directions on the container are really good. Only thing I did different was to up the amps because at the levels specified I had rod sticking problems.....course those were general rules, not specific for a thick cast alum eye on the bow of an alum. boat.

So if this helps you great. If not, it helped me and you can share my joy.....chuckle, chuckle.

Mark

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
Re: Is the bow eye on your aluminum boat wearing out?

A SS bow eye is much stronger, only costs six bucks and can be installed in 6 minutes. Why go thru all the trouble to fix something that's inferior anyway?

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

I tried a $20 half # of Zeus alum. welding rods and they did the trick. I used the 3/32" and cranked the amps up to 90 and they did real good, considering you are welding cast alum, with a hugh heat sink, it's in a vertical position, and I am not a professional welder, skilled in any of it, especially blobbing aluminum. The directions on the container are really good. Only thing I did different was to up the amps because at the levels specified I had rod sticking problems.....course those were general rules, not specific for a thick cast alum eye on the bow of an alum. boat.

Mark