Do I need this Boat project or should I keep looking. 85 Bayliner 2150 Cuddy Cabin

condor74

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello and first let me say I am new to this forum and from what I have read, there is some great people here with some good advice.

Here is the point of my question. My wife and I decided we would like to get a boat for us and our 3 kids to enjoy. We have had access to a boat in the past but I have never owned one. My boating experience is limited. I am a mechanic by trade and mechanically I am very good. Wood working, I am ok but not experienced with fiberglass.

The boat in question is a 1985 Bayliner 2150 Cuddy Cruiser. The price is right. (free). Here is what is wrong with the boat.

The circulation pump on the Chevrolet 5.0 V8 is bad. Was told this by the previous owner but not sure what kind of bad it is. It could be leaking, It could not pump, It could be noisy.
The starter is dead on the engine.
I have not started the engine but am told it is good other than the pump. It looks ok and the oil is clean.

Now the big one. The floor is completely rotten. I was able to rip up the floor in chunks around the ski locker (if it has a ski locker or is this just a hole?). I was able to gain access to the stringers between the drivers and passenger seats. They look ok from what I can see. I tapped them with a hammer and the feel solid. I have not drilled into them because as I mentioned, I am not a fiberglass guy and don't want to break the seal on the stringers if they are good.
Some of the plywood cross races look a bit rough. The boat has been sitting outside for the last 4 years with no top or cover on it. It had water in the hull which I have since drained. We are in a desert area so we do not get tons of rain like other parts of the country but we do get some through the winter months. I am hoping that the deck is all that needs to be replaced along with the cross braces as needed.