Looking for info/experiences on 1995 Century CC 2001' w/Yamaha 150 OB

GoFastr

Seaman
Let me preface by saying I am a complete novice on big outboard setups both motors and the OB boats themselves. My experience is mainly I/O V4-V8 boats ranging from small ski/tube boats to 30+ foot twin big block go-fasters. I have and have owned small OB's from 5 to only 40hp on a toon boat of mine until now. I am very mechanically inclined and experienced doing things myself. I tend to dig first to find the obvious, then start asking questions.

Juz started the process of rehabbing this boat that was basically a giveaway by a friend (non-mechanical friend BTW) to get it out of his way as he no longer had interest nor the aptitude to deal with it. Last time it ran was in 2010. That ended when he hit a rock punching a hole in the port bow at which time he promptly parked it and it has sat ever since untouched waiting on some love (new name might be the "Cougar"...LOL).

I have since syphoned out the old fuel (beginning to smell turpentiny) from out of the sending unit hole as much as I could get. Other than the smell it's color was still golden and I have been actually running it just fine in the Toon, mowers and in my cars without a hiccup. I have also replaced the whole fuel separator assembly and fuel as the other was completely shot. Yesterday I finished replacing batteries and cleaning every electrical connector I can lay hands on including the accessories board in behind the batteries. Today I plan on hopefully cleaning the carb fuel bowls and replacing the primer bulb and line which is very rigid right now. On and on, plus several other things etc just to sorta paint the big picture...