would you by a prestine 1985 Baretta? - Time sensitive!!!

BuddhaM

Cadet
Hello everyone I am a newbie to owning a boat and it really just began by my buddy and i wanting to do some fishing this summer. Then I thought it would be fun to take the nieces tubing and wanting a little nicer boat then a stripped down beater for fishing. That was the original idea after all. Just buy a boat for around 2k and have some fun. Now i'm keeping it dockside for the summer so it has to have covers so it might as well be a little nicer. Anyway ended up looking in the 5k region but came across this real nice looking 1985 Baretta BR. The hull looks great and the engine has been gone over by their not my mechanic and the interior is in great shape. This came from a Dr's estate and the owner is basically passing it along. In fact he has thought about keeping it and selling his Sea Ray instead. I learned from these forums that this boat is not constructed very well and used steel staples and didn't seal the wood very well so rot is a sure thing. I guess I'm wondering if it would be any worse than the other boats I have been looking at of this age but have worse interiors and cost 4-5k. Oh yeah this is a 19ft Baretta Bow Rider. 170 HP Mercruiser I/O. Not certain yet if it is 3.0 or 4.3 liter. I have been looking at Wellcraft, Regal, Raven, Sea Ray, Bayliner, Caravelle(6k), and some others and most have been real dog interiors and soft floors. Most weren't as old as this one.