Moeller 6 gallon portable gas tank question, need help!

bmanty

Recruit
Hello, I bought this tank from bass pro along with a NPT fuel line connector that said for johnson and evinrude which is what I have. I have a fuel line from my old tank and when I connect it to the motor and the tank, the primer bulb does not fill up, it basically stays flat:confused:. All I did was fill up the tank, screw the connector into the 360degree nozzle and connect the lines. Is there something I am missing during set up, etc. When I connect it to my old tank the line works fine, I also tried to take the NPT connector off the old tank but its an older one that screwed in from the top with a hose on it so it wouldnt work on this tank. Also I am confused on the 360 degree nozzle thing. Is that supposed to rotate somehow, the guy at the store was not much help and I am a little new to the game.:confused:

UncleWillie

Captain
Re: Moeller 6 gallon portable gas tank question, need help!

I have the three gallon version of the same tank.
If you loosen the ring holding the pickup fitting on the tank, the fitting will rotate(NOT! Easily at first) 360 degrees and can be completely removed from the tank.
It is just a plastic tube with a piece of mesh strainer material stuffed into the bottom.
Check if the hose is clear and you can blow through it.
Even when still on the tank blowing into it show produce bubbles coming from the fuel.

By any chance is the NPT fuel fitting for the tank equipped with an internal Anti-Siphon Valve?
Can you blow/suck through it easily?
The primer pump may not have the force needed to overcome the Anti-Siphon Valve.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

Is your bulb going the right direction? Try another bulb, too. They go bad. You should carry a spare anyway.

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral