High speed pontoon boats...Are they safe?

Mason78

Petty Officer 1st Class
This summer I saw several tri-toon setups on the lake with high HP engines reaching impressive speeds. I have also found several YouTube videos of people doing 60-100 MPH in pontoons.

I am wondering if pontoon boats were ever intended to run this fast? Is this safe?

I am not trying to debate anyone as I have zero experience with pontoons, I am just curious.

My second question is in regards to maneuverability. Are these tri-toons as maneuverable as a fiberglass runabout? Are they a good choice for a skier or wake boarder?

What are the advantages/disadvantages when compared to a deckboat type layout?

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral
Re: High speed pontoon boats...Are they safe?

for anything on YouTube, the worse the background music, the more dangerous it is.

People love overpowering boats (and cars and bikes) for racing or daredevil fun but that does not make it a good idea for the average or recreational user. So what you see may be the "special" and not a good idea for you. Bass boats are the same way.

It's my understanding that toons are not good on turns and therefore not the best for water sports. Of course the ads show people using them that way, and lots of people do, but it doesn't mean it's the best set-up. PLus wake boarding wants wake.

LippCJ7

Vice Admiral

I have to tell you, the thought of a 60 MPH Pontoon boat makes Pontoons much more appealing to me personally, until someone gets hurt we may never know but I have yet to see a Pontoon breakup at speed, everything I have seen tells me they are very stable at speed and handle speed very well. I seriously doubt that companies like Bennington and a few others would expect to have a long term business plan selling/manufacturing dangerous Pontoons so I think it safe to say they are a safe well made Boats.

Other then that I completely agree with Home Cookin, the worse the background music the more dangerous it is!!