I am an anchor and line noob....

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander
After using all the junk rope that came with my old boat I would like to do it right with the new Starcraft Islander 221 that I will be bringing home as soon as the snow stops.
Anyway, I have bought a 28 lb navy style anchor and 100ft of 3/8 nylon braided anchor line with a galvanized loop. The navy style is popular around here with the muddy/weedy bottoms on our lakes but I have no idea what to use in the northern canadian shield where it is very rocky.
Is the 3/8 rope enough for my boat?
I also want proper dock lines this time around. Would 3/8 by 10 feet be suitable? I would buy two of them.
Also I need fenders. Again, I don't know what size or what is supposed to hang them. The other boat had shoe strings on the fenders.
Do I need some sort of special chain and clips to fasten the anchor to the rope?

JoLin

Vice Admiral
Re: I am an anchor and line noob....

Can't speak for the type of anchor youi need, but 3/8" line will be fine, (you oughta add some chain, tho) as will 3/8" for your dock lines. Conventional wisdom for small-midsize boats recommends fender sizing at 1" in diameter for every 3' of boat length. If that boat is 22' you'll want 7 or 8 inchers. Might even be overkill for you, as your boat is very light for its size.

dsiekman

Senior Chief Petty Officer

+1 on adding chain to the anchor rode, especially with a muddy bottom. Length of anchor rode depends a lot on the depth in which you will be boating. 3/8" is probably about right.