Canvas cockpit cover without snaps?

JASinIL2006

Vice Admiral
Hi all, I just purchased a set of canvas covers for my Larson 186 bowrider. The bowcover snaps on and fits perfectly. The cockpit cover, though, has no snaps to attach it to the boat. I contacted the seller and their response was that this was common practice because the snaps on the cover need to be set where the snaps on the boar are located.

I'm a little surprised, since these were advertised as "genuine factory covers" and none of the promotional literature said anything about snaps need to be installed.

After I got over my surprise, I looked on the Web and it doesn't look too difficult to install snaps, but I still wonder if this is common or accepted practice.

The covers themselves seem to be pretty good quality; they are made wit Sunbrella fabric and they have a fairly heavy nylon web reinforcing around the edges (where I presume the snaps are to be installed).

I'm a complete newbie at this boating stuff and I don't want to be unreasonable, but I find the whole thing rather weird. Thoughts?

Thanks!

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Canvas cockpit cover without snaps?

After I got over my surprise, I looked on the Web and it doesn't look too difficult to install snaps, but I still wonder if this is common or accepted practice.

Ayuh,.... If they were to built 1000 hulls, No 2 will have the snaps in the Exact same spots,...
So,...
Yes, that's quite Normal....

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

JA, It sounds like you are going to want to install the snaps. You can buy a snap installation tool for a few $, and it will work like crap, but it will work. They also have two piece installation kits that you use a hammer to set the snap. These stink as well. The much much better tool to install the snaps looks like a vicegrip, but costs $70+.

JASinIL2006

Vice Admiral