What are Scupper Drains?

Searay87

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm relatively new to boating so sorry for the newb question. I've owned a 1987 17' Sea Ray bowride for the past 3 summers. If has a bilge pump in the engine compartment and a drain plug on the transom.

I just upgraded to a 1987 Sorrento S24. It has 2 bilge pumps. One in the engine compartment and one below the cockpit just ahead of the stairs down into the cuddy. It also has two drains, one on each side near the back not far above the water line. The former owner told me they are scupper drains and he has plugged them. He also told me that they are not legal anymore?? I read the manual cover to cover and couldn't find any information on the scuppers.

What are these things and should they be plugged? What is their purpose?

Thanks!

Attachments

• $(KGrHqIOKjoE6T-PY,9LBOnud-tPI!~~60_3[1].jpg
    $(KGrHqIOKjoE6T-PY,9LBOnud-tPI!~~60_3[1].jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 1

Huron Angler

Admiral
Re: What are Scupper Drains?

Scuppers allow for the deck to drain using gravity, also known as a "self-bailing" hull since the deck is above the waterline and sheds water quickly.

They are great for boats that might take an occasional wave over the bow, rain, or splash that needs to be drained quickly.

The previous owner probably had them plugged since water can also enter the hull thru the same holes, when rocking in waves, etc.

I'm a big fan of scuppers, and I'd use them if I were you. Great way to shed water without draining your batteries.:)

The bilge pumps are there for lower areas that cannot take advantage of the scuppers.

tpenfield

Staff member

You can Google that . . .

Anyway, they are holes that drain the water directly over board and not into the bilge. Others may chime in about the USCG regulations on scuppers, bilge draining, etc. I was not paying attention that day in boating class.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

unplug them for safety!