Registration question HELP!!!!! Canadian side

Sunbird1000

Cadet
I was given a 1961 Starcraft "Sunbird: 14 ft with motor and trailer for free..... its in great shape just needs a new floor and seats. 35 Evinrude runs GREAT !

I'm having a bit of trouble getting the paperwork from the Old lady who gave it to me (can't remember where they are )
Now I know I have to apply for a Pleasure Craft Licence from the Canadian Coast Guard ( thats the Number on the hull of the boat right ) ? and put it in my name,
but do I have to Registry the boat as well ?? they say its a $250.00 fee

her husband used the boat say 5 years ago before he died and just sat under a tree since. so I would think the boat is in his name

not sure what to do
I'm new to all this

don't want to get too far into this before I get all the paperwork in my name.

I live in Ontario

thanks
Mike

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Registration question HELP!!!!!

Ayuh,... Ya probably oughta edit yer title to reflect that this is a Canadian question,...

Us, down here in the States, have to deal with each State, 'n they're All Different...

scoutabout

Lieutenant Commander

Welcome to iboats, Sunbird.

Registering and Licencing are different. Pleasure craft must be licenced - registering is optional unless you use it commercially. From what I gather most pleasure craft are not registered in Canada - Check out the Transport Canada link below. They should also be able to help you navigate the paperwork requirements for ownership transfer. It may just be enough to have a bill of sale.

http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/marinesafety/debs-obs-paperwork-menu-425.htm

Jeep Man

Commander

Any craft with a motor 10 hp or larger must be registered.
Phone or email your local Service Canada office for information, as this is a federal issue.

Welcome to iboats, Sunbird.