Jabsco toilet help

eastont

Chief Petty Officer
I have a Jabsco manual head that was installed new last July before I bought it in August.
It worked fine until I winterized it. But now it does not want to pump in fresh water. All else works fine and if I put my finger over the vent at the top it does suck very hard and won't allow me to move the lever. I understand that if a seal is gone then there is no pressure at the vent.

Help, it's getting cruising season and I don't want to have to use a bucket.

RickJ6956

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Jabsco toilet help

Make sure the ball valve on the through-hull is open. When you winterized, did you also flush the intake hose and fittings or fill them with antifreeze? If not, they could have cracked. (This seems unlikely, though, or the boat would be taking on water.)

eastont

Chief Petty Officer

When I winterized the boat, I actually took the hose off the seacock so there is no leak there.
And, I put in a lot more anti-freeze than required just to be safe.

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

1) Garbage on the outside of the thru-hull fitting?

2) Garbage clogged in the thru-hull fitting?

3) Air lock not allowing the pump to move water? Try priming pump with water through the hose first.

country_bumpkin

Petty Officer 1st Class

Yeah, priming the pump, also dump a little head lube in the bowl.

eastont

Chief Petty Officer

I've done all the stuff mentioned and it still will not pump in fresh water.
I'm now thinking it's a gasket/seal problem

BBK

Cadet

I had the same problem, found that over the winter the o-ring seal tends to dry out. It does not create enough vaccum. I changed the seal touched up with a little vasilene works great.

BBK

rbh

Fleet Admiral

I had the same problem, found that over the winter the o-ring seal tends to dry out. It does not create enough vaccum. I changed the seal touched up with a little vasilene works great.

BBK

+1-Yes, sucking air.

tb0ne

Cadet