How much chain as part of anchor rode?

golf101

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Interested to hear how long a chain others use between anchor and rope (if they use rope), and what size chain they use. I read somewhere a recommendation of 20' of chain at a minimum. That seems like an awful lot to me, but I'm no expert on the issue. My boat is a 24' deck boat.

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral
Re: How much chain as part of anchor rode?

I use 5 ft.....works fine for my 21 footer..

QC

Supreme Mariner

I was taught half of boat length . . . I prefer 100% of boat length or more for bad weather and/or less than 5:1 scope. I think I have 1/4 inch chain on my 23 footer.

Woodnaut

Chief Petty Officer

I have 5' of 1/4" chain for my 16' 7" boat.

dvan1901

Chief Petty Officer

Size of chain matters two. I have a 24' deck boat and use about 6' of chain and it works great.

RisqueBznss

Seaman Apprentice

good question, I bought a Doral Monticello from a bank last year and it didn't have an anchor.

What do you recommend for a 26' (28' w/ swim platform)doral 8'6" beam, 6400lb weight dry.

Minnesota freshwater lake.

It has a power windlass system.

how much chain length, what size chain?

Does anyone know a good Doral Dealer that can get me an anchor?

My local dealer says Doral is hard to deal with, I couldn't even get a quote to order a dang anchor last year from that dealer!!! Doral told me I had to go through a dealer. I don't know if it's the dealer or Doral. I heard they were up for sale last year and know why!

I'll try the local again this year but if anyone knows a good Doral dealer please let me know.

thanks!!

QC

Supreme Mariner

There is no way that a dealer is required for an anchor purchase . . . Jeez . . . :rolleyes: You may need to match chain/rode size etc. to the windlass, but that has nothing to do with the boat itself, only the windlass. I think you should probably start your own thread though with a picture and info from your particular windlass. Good luck!

fishrdan