Looking for a used or new boat for family and watersports

girocks2001

Recruit
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy a new or used boat a pay less than $20000. I'm a newbie to boating.

Ideally I'd love to have a boat with a swimming platform. Powerfull enough to do any watersports. Safe for the kids.
No super expensive on gas. Not too heavy to pull.

I have so far looked at Tahoe and Glastron brands. The Mastercraft and Malibu brands look great but expensive. Is it better to buy a used mastercraft or new Tahoe?
Please advise. Your opinions would be greatly appreciated.

uscboy

Seaman
Re: Looking for a used or new boat for family and watersports

Check into the Yamaha SX/AR series. Biggest con is if you need big wake
because you're a very serious boarder - otherwise the wake is fine. And with
only $20K, you'll need to find used... new are from $28K for the 21' and $35K
the 23' versions.

Best swim platform of pretty much any boat out there. Plus, no props in the
back, so not only is it a huge integrated swim platform, but it's even safer
getting in and out. Also, Yamaha includes most things standard like snap in
carpet, bimini, depth finder, etc... things that cost more in other boats as extras.

If you do research on them, check out the forums at http://yamahajetboaters.com
There is lots of great info there.

tmh

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Well, you need to provide a bit more info - like family size, ages, etc. This will help experienced boaters give you advise on boat sizes and types that may fit your needs.