fortress or hooker

jaxnjil

Lieutenant
is the fortess fx7 worth the additional cost over a super hooker #13?

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
Re: fortress or hooker

It'll set better, hold better and will be a lot easier to haul in. The Hooker will work, just not quite as well.

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

But it's a super hooker...no comment on how they might work, haven't done that in years, and I never said that.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

they are both fluke style anchors, 13 lb is an awfully heavy anchor, with 4 ft of chain on it. average boat and conditions will get by with a 7 lb.

pduquette

Ensign

Sorry, i thought i was gonna be a question of where to put your money!:D

ziggy

Admiral

i can't comment on the super hooker as i've never tried them before. but will say i like my fx7.... i wanted something to hook me up and stop me. the fx7 does that for me....... can't remember, but i got either 4 or 6' of chain ontoit......

Campylobacter

Chief Petty Officer

8 lb hooker works for me w/ 3500 lb boat. Always sets first time, never had it pull free (mud and sand bottoms). Haven't had a big blow O/N though.

Griflog

Cadet

Nothing to add, just had to check out a thread with that title!:D

Boatist

Rear Admiral

Yes the Fortress will beat super hooker any day in any test. I have always carried 2 anchors and used hooker for many years. In mud and sand they do fine but in harder bottoms it would often drag for long time before it would dig in. One lake we go to a lot has a very hard bottom. We would set up about 150 feet from shore and lower anchor then pay out line and back into shore and then pull the anchor line slowly but the anchor would drag and not dig in. Many times we would have to go back out and start over. Other times it would drag until it hit a tree lime or rock and dig in under that and be very hard to pull.