Steering Alignment

ptrau

Cadet
Last night I noticed that in order to go in a straight line on the water I have to turn my wheel to the right approximately 1/4 turn (9 o'clock in the 12 o'clock position). I am new to boating but not mechanics and guess that there is a cable that needs to be adjusted. <br /><br />If so, is the adjustment made at the outdrive or below the wheel? If not, any thoughts.<br /><br />'95 Sunbird Corsair 180 I/O 4 cyl OMC Cobra 3.0L<br /><br />As always, thanks for the help.

Jilly - 5

Seaman
Re: Steering Alignment

At first blush, it sounds like your steering wheel was just installed improperly. Come into your berth "straight", allowing the wheel to lie where it is. Then un-bolt the wheel, lift it off its splined shaft, and reinstall it "straight". I assume "straight" to you meeans that the wheel's spokes are in some visually logical position (horizontal, or vertical, or what).<br /><br />The wheel on my truck was fixed at about 11 o'clock, due to a spline mis-alignment after steering box work. Drove me nuts at first, having dashboard gauges appearing that the truck was banking left, like an airplane, but I finally got it re-aligned.

Jilly - 5

Seaman

At first blush, it sounds like your steering wheel was just installed improperly. Come into your berth "straight", allowing the wheel to lie where it is. Then un-bolt the wheel, lift it off its splined shaft, and reinstall it "straight". I assume "straight" to you meeans that the wheel's spokes are in some visually logical position (horizontal, or vertical, or what).<br /><br />The wheel on my truck was fixed at about 11 o'clock, due to a spline mis-alignment after steering box work. Drove me nuts at first, having dashboard gauges appearing that the truck was banking left, like an airplane, but I finally got it re-aligned.

crackerjack

Seaman