Battery analyzer tester question

Gradywhite3535

Chief Petty Officer
Hi all, I want to buy a battery tester for my toys. Mostly for my car and boat batteries. I have found a few testers and doing some research but I'm not an electrical engineer and I'm having some difficulty in understanding which tester should I buy/need? So far I've been looking at one at amazon https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00IZ...IgL&ref=plSrch....
And then a carbon pile 500 amp battery tester
https://m.harborfreight.com/500-amp-...ter-91129.html

What would be the difference in the two different testers being used for 12v marine and auto batteries? woild these be helpful in determining battery condition or is there anything else out there that would be better for testing battery condition?How many amps would a car and boat use to start them?any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

rallyart

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Hopefully you will get more answers than just mine.
The Harbour Freight style is a big resistor that makes heat as it draws a heavy load for about 15 seconds and gives an indication of the battery's ability to handle a large load, like starting. This effectively gives you an idea of the functional capacity your battery actually has. It works well for conventional lead acid batteries (starting or deep cycle) but is not as useful with some others such as AGM. It does not give you a direct reading of reserve capacity but it follows that as the battery is less effective under full load it will also be less effective under a long term load.
The Amazon tester uses an electronic algorithm to evaluate the battery by what happens as it is loaded. This should be good for all types of batteries but it is making an educated guess as to the quality of the battery.
The load tester style is what has been the standard in auto shops for many years.