Draining Gas In Winter

Dagojoe

Cadet
I was told once that prior to winter storage for the boat (Outside but covered) I should put in stabilizer, run the engine for a while then fill the tank completely. I was told that filling the tank helps prevent moisture. I am curious, does everyone else fill their tank or leave it empty or close to empty (assuming you are storing your boat outside).

Joe

BTL

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Everyone I ask has a different opinion on this. I'm no expert so I won't even try to debate the science of fuel/ethanol/water/tank material, etc. I'll just give my personal experience.

Before my last outing of the year I add an appropriate amount of stabilizer or Seafoam to the tank, and then after I pull out of the water I add a little more to whatever is left. I've left full tanks, empty tanks, and partial tanks in a few different boats and never noticed any difference in engine performance the following year, so I don't worry about it anymore.

One of my boats lives in an unheated garage in Minnesota all year, and the '97 Mercury on it runs like a champ every Spring regardless of how much gas sat in the tank all Winter.

Blind Date

Chief Petty Officer
I leave the tank close to empty & add fresh fuel in the spring right away when I pull it out of storage. I add fuel stabilizer on my last outing to work it into the engine's fuel system..

tpenfield

Staff member
'Empty' is the new 'Full' as far as fuel tank storage goes. Marine fuel tanks really do not have the opportunity to bring in moisture laden air as once theorized.

The full tank concept is theory, but not really proven. More and more people are starting to realize that and opting for more of an empty tank than a full tank.

The fuel tank, even in a mostly empty state has an abundance of fumes in it. We all know that gasoline fumes are heavier than air. So, air cannot get past the fumes to bring moisture into the tank.

Stumpalump

Chief Petty Officer