Possible purchase advice 2001 Crownline 262 CR

So my wife and I just bought our first house. We now live 20 minutes from lake Raystown (a 26 mile lake in PA). We've been looking at used boats under $20k. Requirements being: fun as a powerboat, relatively maneuverable, capable of pulling a tube etc, roomy for standing and sitting topside, enclosed and pump-able head, comfortably weekend at the lake.

After much looking we've decided the 2000 - 2003 Crownline 242 CR or 262 CR are strong contender as there are a handful for sale within 200 miles, well priced and in good shape.

The 2000, 242 has a 5.7L mercruiser.
The 2001, 262 has a 6.2L Mercruiser.
The 2002, 262 CR has a 5.7L Volvo Penta.

Questions:
1. Thoughts on the boat itself for the intended uses? I have no experience with these.
2. 242 vs 262... Seemingly small size difference. No Price difference. Bigger is better?
3. In the 262's, which powertrain? 6.2L Mercruiser or 5.7L Volvo Penta? What drives are behind these two engines? Bravo lll?

Just trying to learn as much as possible before what I consider a big purchase.

Thank you!

Jesse

NHGuy

Captain
A 5.7 isn't very much oomph for that much boat. It will plane but it will only get into the low 40's MPH. The 6.2 is worth the difference. Plus bigger is better with boats.
Have you owned a boat before? If not get a day out on one, maybe mooch a ride or get a demo ride.
They are fun, but require active ownership. Whether you will do your own care or pay, boats are needy things.

I know a few folks that have CrownLines they like them very much.

A 5.7 isn't very much oomph for that much boat. It will plane but it will only get into the low 40's MPH. The 6.2 is worth the difference. Plus bigger is better with boats.
Have you owned a boat before? If not get a day out on one, maybe mooch a ride or get a demo ride.
They are fun, but require active ownership. Whether you will do your own care or pay, boats are needy things.