Fuel Gauge/ sending unit

Dave K.

Chief Petty Officer
Hi, not sure what else to do? I have a '95 Capri, 1700 LS. Nice boat for what I do and runs great. Owned for 4 years, my 3rd boat.
The fuel gauge does not work. I installed a new sending unit last year and that didn't fix it. I just purchased a new gauge which I'll install this week.

Q: If it still does not work - what else could it be?

Regards, Dave

tpenfield

Staff member
Hi, not sure what else to do? I have a '95 Capri, 1700 LS. Nice boat for what I do and runs great. Owned for 4 years, my 3rd boat.
The fuel gauge does not work. I installed a new sending unit last year and that didn't fix it. I just purchased a new gauge which I'll install this week.

Q: If it still does not work - what else could it be?

Regards, Dave

Wiring . . .

Dave K.

Chief Petty Officer
​I figured if it is that's the one part I'm not that good with. I'll know later this week.
TY, Dave

89retta

Senior Chief Petty Officer
The new sender you installed must be have the same resistance value as your old one. And vice versa for the new gauge.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
The sender has two connections. One is for the sender wire to the gauge. The other connection is to ground. The gauge has three connections. Ground, Switched +12VDC and the sender wire. Make sure all connections are clean and tight.

Most senders have the same resistance value, so it is likely your gauge and sender are compatable.

Dave K.

Chief Petty Officer
Thanks for the help. I was able to purchase the exact same gauge, 3 pin - it's identical to the original. I'll know this weekend once I get a chance to do the work. I'll also play around with the wires, ground and so on if I can't get the gauge to move.
​Thanks again, Dave

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner