1974 sea ray, pleasure/fishing?

novasbc

Recruit
I am new here, but have used the sticky topics over the past few months to rule out a number of boats I've gone to look at from Craigslist, which I am very glad for., since I have never owned or operated one.

I've found a boat that is in my price range, passes all the general tests. However, my intended purpose is 60% fishing and 40% pleasure (kids are too young now, but a few years down the road...)

This sea ray doesn't seem well suited to going out for a day on the lake fishing. Is this an accurate assessment? I've been generally looking at ones listed at sub-$2000, and it's tempting with the right price.

However, if it is going to turn out to be annoying to fish from, I'll have to pass.

A little work on a boat is OK, I have plenty of experience in automotive repairs, just not boats. I really am trying to stay away from anything with stringer or transom rot.

Thanks!

Mark

southkogs

Staff member
Welcome aboard Mark:

Give us a little more about the boat. I'm guessing it's a closed bow Sea Ray boat about 18 to 20 feet, but that's just because I see a lot of 'em for sale around here. What type of drive? Outboard or I/O? Etc. Etc.

IMHO ... fish really don't care what you're in when you catch 'em. So, any boat can be a fishing boat. But I don't care for fishing from my bow rider.

Newbie@boats

Chief Petty Officer
My Bayliner definitely not the best case for fishing but I really do enjoy the general layout of the boat and everything else about it. Its how its going to work in the long run, eventually you will find the best way to fish from it......here is one I caught just last weekend off the back of my Bayliner

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
I would avoid fiberglass boats just out of general rules.Also I/Os They are more labor intensive.
I wonder about a I/O for under $2000.
Aluminum Outboard Perhaps a Pontoon.