Proper Trim for Inboard / Outboard - 1991 Bayliner Capri Merc

malibu3105

Seaman
In reading these posts, I am seeing people state that they Trim Up to get better speed. I am new to boating so am just trying to learn.
Don't I want to trim (lower the prop) down so that the boat planes flat on the water for best speed? And if I trim Up, doesn't that point the nose of the boat up, and push the bottom of the boat down? Seems that would slow my boat down.

Please advise, as I want to do it correct. I was out last weekend and had it trimmed all the way down (I think). the boat ran good, almost 40mph.
It has a 4.3L V6 Mercury engine.

Frank

tpenfield

Staff member
Initially when you start off from a stand-still trimmed down will help the boat rise up out of the water. But . . . once you gain speed, the boat can hold itself up, so you can get a little less drag by trimming up a bit. there is a lot of 'feel' to it and no right or wrong. It is just that the boat will gain a few more mph when trimmed correctly for a given load and sea condition.

thumpar

Admiral
Trimmed up does raise the bow but leaves less hull in the water for less drag. If you are trimmed down at speed you just plow through the water.

H20Rat

Vice Admiral
Too much of a good thing is never good also. When you are trimming up, there is a certain point where the prop will ventilate. Also, depending on the hull, you might actually lose speed before the prop ventilates. Need to watch GPS and tach while trimming if you want the optimal spot. Handling is also impacted by trim... Too much up trim and a hull will often ventilate on a turn. Too much down trim at speed during a turn and you get bow steer, which can be violent and dangerous. (again, all depending on the hull)

Last edited:

tpenfield

Staff member
My boat only like a little bit of up trim. If I go even into a moderate range, well before ventilation, the boat looses 1-2 mph.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral