Water plug?

stingray3

Seaman
Hi Folks. I'm new to boating so I have many questions I bought a Crestliner Crusader 165- 1985 it's a 4 cyl. Chevy engine. My question is, how tight should I tighten the Bilge plug being that it's brass I don't want to strip it. Thanks

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
You just need to firm it up good and you will be good to go, if it is a threaded plug, which your question seems to indicate, then just put it firmly and it will be good, with threaded plugs it really does not take much to keep them from leaking.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
welcome aboard. only about 2-3 flats past finger tight is all thats needed.

stingray3

Seaman
Hey thanks for the quick answers. I have only taken the boat 3 times and there is quite a bit of water that comes out when I take the plug out. I have tried a few ways of tightening the plug. turning it just tight to the touch and tightening it all the way in. Still when I remove the plug I get water. What is the correct way, I'm puzzled. And yes the plug is threaded.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
If you are getting water, it is probably not through the plug, all boats take on small amounts of water, but if you are getting large amounts of water, you need to start looking around and see if you can figure out where it is coming from, so you can take corrective action to stop most of it, a couple of pictures of the transom would be a good thing to look at.

Last edited:

Scott Danforth

Staff member
I would be looking in the bilge area with a flashlight with the boat in the water. First with the motor off, the with the motor running. You will find the source of the water

stingray3

Seaman
Ok Thanks, I'm taking it in to the boat shop to check the lower shift cable and kill sw, since it stalls as soon as I put it in reverse, at least that's what they think it is, I'll have them check it out for the water problem too. Thanks again for the help.

stingray3

Seaman