Workspace

BWR1953

Vice Admiral
I need some feedback, ideas, thoughts and whatnot.

Many guys on here have HUGE workshops which allow them to store and work on their boats. Several of the shops I've seen are 5 or 6 times larger than my house! :eek: Wowsers!

I, on the other hand, have zip, nada, zilch. I've learned over the last few years that one of my biggest mistakes when purchasing this place was to not include a real garage and a workshop or utility building in the purchase. That and not paving my long driveway! LOL! Ah well, moving along...

And of course life changes came along and I'm now on a fixed income and don't have the Benjamins I had before. So, in my recent refurb project I had to work outside in my yard. In Florida. In the summer! Ugh. :blue:

So, I have 1.5 acres and do have room for a workspace of some type. (I dunno why some guys call it a hangar. I'm a USAF veteran and hangars are places where airplanes or satellites are kept. :D )

With my limited budget I've been checking the tarp style carports which would at least get my boat (and me!) out of the sun and maybe the rain, depending on options. The one I'm leaning toward the most costs a little over $200.

And I've also been checking steel carports which cost more like $1000 and on up.

So please give me some feedback! Tell me where you work on or store your boat, especially if you've had limited space or no work shop at all.

This is my boat yard. As in my boat in my yard where I've had to do all the work thus far. So anything "indoors" will be a major improvement!

boat yard.jpg

This is the fabric style carport I've been checking out. It can be assembled 3 different ways.

Just the canopy
shelter1.jpg

Canopy with sidewalls
shelter2.jpg

Canopy with sidewalls extended.
shelter3.jpg

Attachments

• boat yard.jpg
    boat yard.jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 0
  • boat yard.jpg
    boat yard.jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 0

64osby

Admiral