• If this is your first visit to the iboats.com Boating Forums, be sure to check out the FAQ. To post a question or comment, begin by signing up. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
  • ALL iboats Forum Members and Guests:
    To show our appreciation for your participation in the Forums, we're offering an exclusive Forums-only discount good for an additional 5% off your iboats.com order for a limited time.
    To redeem, simply call our Customer Service Team at 800-914-1123 (Open M-F, 9am - 8pm Eastern Time) and mention the Forums 5% off discount. Offer excludes engines, trolling motors, and electronics.

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rod/Reel Suggestions

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rod/Reel Suggestions

Looking for recommended Rod/Reel combos?? I am new to trolling and will be doing so in local lakes, (Camanche, Amador, etc) for trout in California. I am willing to spend a little money but don;t want to break the bank. Also, what is best to set it up with? Braided line to lead core then to mono for a leader? I will not be using a down rigger at this time. Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks, Jason.

Re: Rod/Reel Suggestions

Ayuh,... I fell in Love with linear rods 10 years ago...
    I buy 'em from Cabela's, in the 7' models...
    Add a line counter reel, 'n you can always put yer baits back to Exactly where they were workin'...
    Any Grease is Better,..... Than No Grease at All.......

Comment

I'm a daiwa fan. I like the hartland rods and accudepth line counter reels. I use 7'6" medium light rods and 47lc reels. I find the ML rods give for when the fish tries to run so you do not pull the hook out and loose the fish as often. But you loose sensativity. But your not jiging with these rods either.
      J Bisson

1991 Bayliner Trophy 2002 W/A

Past Projects