25 HP Yamaha outboard won't turn over but pistons aren't siezed ?? Lower unit ??

beads8

Cadet
My 2003 25 HP Yamaha O/B stopped abruptly with a thud almost like I had hit something in the lake. I took off the cylinder head to inspect the pistons/cylinders and they are clean and smooth. The piston actually move freely about a 1/4 inch but will not move any further. It almost feels like it would if the motor was in gear when I try to turn it over with the starter or pull rope even though it is in neutral, the and prop will spin. I can put it in gear where the prop locks in and when I turn the prop the shaft moves the pistons the 1/4" or so. Any ideas what to look for? does this sound like a lower unit issue?
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Beads

kfa4303

Banned
Re: 25 HP Yamaha outboard won't turn over but pistons aren't siezed ?? Lower unit ??

Hi beads. I'm no Yami pro, but it does sound like a lower unit issue. I would try to drop the lower unit then rotate the flywheel. You can also try cycling through the gears with the LU removed as well.

99yam40

Fleet Admiral
Re: 25 HP Yamaha outboard won't turn over but pistons aren't siezed ?? Lower unit ??

dropping lower unit would be the easiest way to eliminate the possible locked up drive shaft.

If it still will not turn with lower off, then look for a mechanical device the keeps motor from being started while in gear.

Some of the manual start motors had these, but electric start did not from what I understand

beads8

Cadet