Coolling problem on a Suzuki DT115

Status
Not open for further replies.

caga

Cadet
My first post unfortunately starts with asking for help, sorry about that, but on the other hand I can say that after reading the forum topics I believe that I am close to an answer.
So, the story is like this, I got a 1993 Vanguard Phantom with a Suzuki DT115 outboard and there is a cooling problem since no water is coming out of the pilot hole. I am an ABSOLUTE NEWB at this, but after watching a video about the impeller replacing procedure I decided to try it and see what gives, so I dropped the lower unit, inspected the water pump, and everything is perfect there, soft blades, good gaskets, as brand new.
Then I put water into the outlet pipe of the water pump and there is a lot of water coming out of the exhaust and just slowly making its way to the thermostat (which I also removed), so basically the whole cooling is bypassed through that leak. When I purchased the boat I have noticed that the water is coming out of the propeller housing, but I did not have a clue what that meant and the seller was pushing to close the deal (which was not bad, only $2900 for the whole thing).
I just consider myself lucky to not have put the boat in the water, I would have blown the engine in no time. The motor is otherwise very strong, I was really looking forward to have some fun:blue:embarassed::.
If you could help, please do so, I really have to fix this thing before the end of the week, I have family coming to visit and this was one of the activities planned for the next month.

deejaycee_2000

Captain
Re: Coolling problem on a Suzuki DT115