Yamaha 25hp, Idle issue, carb rebuilt, whats next?

saltymike

Seaman Apprentice
1990 Yamaha 25hp. Turns over almost every time but won't idle. Out on the water have to keep on the throttle or it will die out. I cleaned the carb a few times, got better but issue kept reoccurring. Carb kit and new fuel pump installed today(lost old fuel pump spring so had to put a new one in). The carb kit came with a new air adjustment screw which I put on the carb but do not know where to start with the screw...all the way in? all the way out? Either way it turns over then dies after about 3 seconds. Seems like the carb kit and fuel pump made no difference. Does anyone know the factory setting for the air adjustment screw? I have tried every 1/4 turn position possible, nothing seems to make a difference and allow the engine to idle. My next move is to change spark plugs, they are probably fouled now after all of the experimenting done today. Hoping it's not a timing issue, I have no experience with that. All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Toddboat

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Yamaha 25hp, Idle issue, carb rebuilt, whats next?

There is an adjustable screw with a spring on it that adjusts idle speed. It's likely on the middle carb. It's easy enough to just adjust the idle speed, but don't do it! First, you have to try to fix the problem before just circumventing it.