yamaha 40 hp 2 stroke

b00tsyo42

Cadet
Hello, i am new to boating and have yamaha 40 hp two stroke 3 cylinder oil injected possibly 2002 ? numbers on it are 6H4 4 OVETO L544784 U . motor starts and runs ok a bit rough and conks out often. i have several questions, how can i more accurately identify year and model, can i get service manual for this engine ? i wish too service this engine and gearbox myself and if easy enough decarbonise engine and clean carbies any tips on how too service and get this motor running sweet as i can would be appreciated. thanks b00tsyo42 in western australia:)

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: yamaha 40 hp 2 stroke

There are a number of aftermarket outboard motor manuals for each brand but the best service manual is the OEM manual since it is produced by Yamaha and Yamaha built the engine so they know it best. Visit your Yamaha dealer. Don't know if you can order them on-line but I would think so. As for carb cleaning it is a fairly basic operation. DO NOT disassemble all three carbs at the same time. Doing one at a time will provide you the opportunity to look at one of the other carbs should you forget how it went back together. Kits are available on-line. Decarb is smoky process in which a strong mixture of RingFree, SeaFoam or other additives are used to dissolve carbon deposits. One thing you need to do after rebuilding carbs is to perform the linkage synchronization process. Carbs and ignition advance linkage must be spot on to for proper engine operation.

robert graham

Admiral