Suzuki dt65 overheating/cooling issues&water pressure

tank187

Cadet
HI THERE

Im new to this and was wondering if i can get some help or the right answers,

I just bought a half cabin piranha with a suzuki 65hp oil injected engine which i think is a mid 90s model.
it was only trickling water out from the top pee hole and alarm was always sounding. got a mobile marine mechanic to have a look at it so this is what his done.

changed the impeller and flushed engine while the bottom shaft was down with a garden hose, then put shaft back on
and open up the thermostat cover to relise there was no thermostat there. anyway kept flushing motor out with thermo cover off and motor on idle while also blowing high pressure air thru pee hole, and getting all the sand and salt out as much as he could. now when motor starts up the water takes forever to reach the top and squirt back out with my ear muffs or in a tub. but when he used his muffs the water came thru with in 5 seconds and with good pressure.

the issue im having now is that when the water eventually gets flowing thru, my alarm starts going off and i notice that the head and exhaust start to heat to the point that i cant touch it, but when i rev the motor back up round 4000rpm it starts to cool down. so mainly overheating on idle and not bringing up enough pressure with my muffs that i have just bought new.

i wont ask could it be this or could it be that..... im praying that some one on this site has over come an issue like this and can help me out cause it driving me crazy!

thanx people......

99yam40

Fleet Admiral
Re: Suzuki dt65 overheating/cooling issues&water pressure

I always replace water pump with the kit not just the impeller as the cup and wear plate get grooved and will not seal off well.