need help with suzuki 2002 df 140 steering problem

feet wet

Cadet
i have a 02 suzuki df140 with a steering problem that I have been fighting for a few years. It just does not swing that easy when I disconnect it from the steering. I had teleflex and thought hyd steering would power through it but its still a bit stiff. I think I need to pull the engine and remove the steering swivel bracket (have also seen it referred to as king pin) and lubricate it. I cannot get any grease into the zirk fitting anymore.

has anyone done this? I think I can disconnect linkage and cables to the motor then disconnect the the upper and lower engine mounts and swing the eng off (with a hoist of course) then pull the pin out to lube it...this time with triple guard grease.

thoughts?

99yam40

Fleet Admiral
Re: need help with suzuki 2002 df 140 steering problem

Best read your service manual first, may have to pull power head and other things to get it done.
But I have not tried it before, so what do I know

oldfishdude

Recruit

i have a 02 suzuki df140 with a steering problem that I have been fighting for a few years. It just does not swing that easy when I disconnect it from the steering. I had teleflex and thought hyd steering would power through it but its still a bit stiff. I think I need to pull the engine and remove the steering swivel bracket (have also seen it referred to as king pin) and lubricate it. I cannot get any grease into the zirk fitting anymore.

has anyone done this? I think I can disconnect linkage and cables to the motor then disconnect the the upper and lower engine mounts and swing the eng off (with a hoist of course) then pull the pin out to lube it...this time with triple guard grease.

thoughts?[/QUOTE

Maybe look at the grease fittings themselves? Maybe they can be removed/replaced if the check ball is frozen or damaged.

feet wet

Cadet

thanks but I looked at these already even replaced them but cant get it to take any grease

99yam40

Fleet Admiral