Suzuki DT115 temperature sensor squirts water!!?

Dirtfloor

Cadet
Hi guys, I'm a newbie as you can tell. I have aquired an old (1981) DT115. There is what I thought was temp sensor prutruding from the lower cylinder water cover. It's about two inches long, hexagonal in profile . Whilst running the engine there was water squirting out of the end. Is this a temp sensor and if so does it have some electrical probe which fits in the hole or is there some other explaination?
I tried to do some research but Google kept leading me here!
I'ld really appreciate anf info.
Thanks

Dirtfloor

Cadet
Re: Suzuki DT115 temperature sensor squirts water!!?

Yeah, I already had a look at Browns Point . Unfortunatley there is nothing that resembles the thing! I'm beginning to think maybe it's an after market temp or pressure sensor. I'll keep looking and if I find anything useful I'll post.
Thanks

99yam40

Fleet Admiral

how about a pic

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Why not tell us if you have a water pressure gauge on the console. If you do, does it work? If not it very likely is because the hose is disconnected at the fitting you are describing. Next, look carefully at the fitting. Does the outer edge of it look like it has ridges on it (called a hose barb)? If so, it is very likely a hose barb for the hose that feeds the water pressure gauge. If you don't have a water pressure gauge, then it is definitely something else. If it was temperature sender (an electrical device) then there should be a wire(s) dangling in the area with the missing piece of the sender attached. One more check would be to plug the fitting, start the engine, and see which gauge doesn't work. If the key-on alarm system doesn't work it may be because this device is damaged. Help yourself here and be a bit analytical.

Dirtfloor

Cadet

Hi Silvertip,