1988 Suzuki DT55 someone stole my coils

scooter1962

Recruit
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum & I hope I'm posting this right. I just bought an older bayliner boat for the engine an it is a 1988 Dt55 Suzuki engine (#0551-807601). The man said the engine ran perfect before parked 2yrs ago. Oldly enough someone stole all 3 ignition coils while it was parked:(. I just got 3 new ones and ordered a service manual. I'm an X-motorcycle mechanic but, eager to learn about marine engines and ready to get this thing running so I can swap it out in place of a 35hp mercury on my 15' Sea Nymph fishing boat . I have 3 wires from the CDI. They are GREY----LIGHT BLUE----ORANGE and I need to know which one goes to the top/middle/bottom cylinders. Also, I ran a compression check and top= 124 middle= 134 and bottom 124. Does this sound about right? If anyone can lend a little advice, I would greatly appreciate the input. In the mean time I will be searching thru all the post relating to this engine to learn everything I can.

mphelle8vld

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1988 Suzuki DT55 someone stole my coils

Top-Orange, Middle-L Blue, Bottom-Gray. The wires from the coils should also have a colored collar so they don't get mixed up in the future. The compression numbers sound fine, hopefully the motor was fogged before sitting for 2 years. Make sure to run pre-mix for awhile until you're sure the oil injection system is working properly.

scooter1962

Recruit