milky oil in four stroke 100 yamaha 2002

jacklarge

Cadet
just noticed milky oil in my f100 yamaha. the motor runs good. Some say it smells like gas contamination but could be water? what is next step? drained the milky oil (salt water use) and filled with fresh oil. turn over twice a day without starting:confused::confused::confused:

mommicked

Lieutenant Commander
Re: milky oil in four stroke 100 yamaha 2002

When my 03 F90 was making oil, the oil turned black and smelled strong of fuel.If its yellow or coffee w cream colored, Its probably water, but IM no expert.

jacklarge

Cadet

the contaminated oil is now starting to separate; dark at top half and coffee and cream at bottom, is this water and what are the possible fixes? or problems? smells potent like fuel

mommicked

Lieutenant Commander

I would say its water, but how has the motor been maintained,? how long has the old oil been in there?What is the new oil doing? Are you saying the motor will not crank now? ("......without starting") ?

jacklarge

Cadet

Motor runs great with slight sputter between 2500&3500 rpm. New oil contaminated in one day out. Noticed the water separator was full. Maintenance is questionable; just bought

Woodnaut

Chief Petty Officer

What is RPM at Wide Open Throttle? (Underway)

cribber

Lieutenant

Milky oil is a blown seal of some type and water is getting into your oil. If it's your lower leg then you need to replace the seals at the least. If the milky oil is in the dipstick then you've got a blown gasket somewhere or a cracked block. Either way, it doesn't look good until you figure out where the water is getting into your oil.

mommicked

Lieutenant Commander