Suzuki DT65 Engine Year & Cooling System?? Complete Novice

mWilsonNZ

Recruit
Gidday All

New to owning a boat - Purchased June 2009 (Fleetline 15ft with 65hp Suzuki Engine)

First question is what year the engine is.
I have browsed some sites and this forum and found that the first number on the ID plate suggests the year
The plate on my engine reads:
Top line - DT65
Second/Bottom Line - 6501 - 3....

From this I assume the year is either a 1973, 1983 or 1993 but don't know how to tell which?

Secondly I have taken boat out fishing probably about 8/9 times now (Ocean in Taranaki) and when I get back I always wash the boat and put the ear-muff connectors on the bottom part of the outboard and turn it on to flush out the salt-water

The last time I did this I noticed that the stream of water wasn't coming out from the top part of the side of the engine.

Not sure how long this has been the case or even what the stream of water is for/does but assume it is not good.

I had a quick look and there is a hose that goes from the outer case and on to a nipple on the side of the engine internal. The nipple part on the engine internal has little salt like crystals on it so perhaps it is blocked from the salt water?

If someone could let me know firstly what the stream of water is from/does, and also possibly how to get it back would be greatly appreciated (Possibly like to avoid taking in to boat shop to get them to check/repair as they charge like raging bulls)

Thanks in advance

Oh also is a 2-stroke motor if that helps.

Matt :)

Kreso

Cadet
Re: Suzuki DT65 Engine Year & Cooling System?? Complete Novice

Hi Matt!