Suzuki 200 HP 2 stroke (Problem shifting into forward)

BuckVegas

Cadet
My friend "Wallybme" put the original post in for me since I was not registered for this site. Now I am free to post so....to add some detail to Wallybme's post. My boat is a 1996 Party Cruiser with a 200 HP Suzuki 2 stroke.
I'm not sure about the year or model of the motor yet. I'm really a novice at this, but hope to become sharper in a short period of time.
At any rate...the motor seems to run fine and starts right up, idles well, etc. Once or twice on the first trip out on the water there was some hesitation in the gears engaging when shifting from reverse to forward.
On my second trip out, the problem became progressively worse over the course of a couple hours on the water. It ultimately reached the point where I wasn't sure if I could get it to engage at all when attempting to move forward. I could reliably shift it into reverse and seemed to react normal when moving backwards. At one point I had decided I might need to back it all the way to the boat ramp. The last time I successfully engaged the shifter in the forward position, it took about 10 or more attempts before it finally caught and began moving forward. Each time I moved the lever to the forward position the motor made a rapid ratcheting sound, (like the teeth of two gears running across each other but not catching.
Thus far I have read a few of the strings here and have learned a little about the lower end, but I'm really still pretty ignorant at this point. I will order a repair book and start studying, but in the mean time I am looking for some ideas on how I might troubleshoot the rig to get some idea if it is an adjustment issue or a hardware replacement issue. There are no Suzuki Dealers within 200 miles of here.
Any advise will be greatly appreciated.
:)

Last edited:

gmlees

Cadet
Re: Suzuki 200 HP 2 stroke (Problem shifting into forward)