85 Suzuki DT 115 Excessive Gas Consumption

jlynn37174

Cadet
My 1985 ST115 seems to be consuming close to a gallon per mile. I ran a compression check and all 4 cylinders were around 70 psi. The engine starts and runs well. It has yet to let me down, but I can go through a 12 gallon tank of gas in an hour just cruising. Am I just kidding my self, does the engine need to be overhauled or is there something I can do to improve the gas consumption?

deejaycee_2000

Captain
Re: 85 Suzuki DT 115 Excessive Gas Consumption

damn that is really heavy on gas ...... 70 is really low compression, you can get the motor overhauled, redone .....

jlynn37174

Cadet

Since I'm not a mechanic, what should I expect to pay to have it overhauled?

Johnshan1

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Your gauge might be off, 70 psi is low, but the fact that they are all the same is more important.

jlynn37174

Cadet

How long should I turn over the engine to measure PSI? I just bumped it so that it wouldn't start.

tommays

Admiral

You need to pull all the plugs ,kill the ignition ,have the throttle wide open and i would give each cylinder a good 3 cycles to get a reading

Tommays

deejaycee_2000

Captain

agreed, do that again and give us the reading .....

jlynn37174

Cadet

I did as you suggested. I removed all 4 plugs and move the throttle to full. The compression on all 4 was around 125.

Big Keepers

Petty Officer 1st Class

Now that is more like it. Typically you want to put the motor through 5 compressions. Not sure why the WOT is necessary. I do my checks with closed throttle. Check your spark, make sure all the cylinders are getting a good, clean spark. What did the plugs look like when you removed them? This is important. Keep the plugs in cylinder order so you know what each cylinder is doing. After that I'd do a visual inspection of the fuel system. Make sure there are no leaks or anything. A fuel vacuum and pressure test of the system would not hurt either.