200 HP Suzuki hard to start cold

mstritt

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1987 DT 200 anniversary edition that is hard to start when cold. If it is not warmed up it will die when I try to go on plane but runs at no wake speed. Once warmed up it runs great(10 minutes or so at the dock)or if its been off for 15 minutes or so it fires right back up and runs fine. Just wondering what the problem could be. :confused: <br />Thanks in advance<br />Martin on the Jersey Shore

tprice

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 200 HP Suzuki hard to start cold

Have you changed the plugs. I am by no means a mechanic but if I understand correctly once a plug warms up it will fire better than when it is cold.

murphy1

Seaman Apprentice

Hello, I have the same problem with my 1987 suzuki dt200. At the end of every season when the temp got colder it would do as you stated. I was told it was running too lean. I never adjusted the carbs and just winterized it. Now it's a new season and it's stalling in gear even now when it's warm out (engine cold or warm). I've cleaned the carbs, played with the lean/rich adj's, and changed the plugs. I even had a friend who is a retired suzuki mechanic look at it and we were baffled. So I sent it off to the pros to figure out for $85/hr. I'll let you know what they come back with 10 days from now. Also, can you keep your engine from stalling if you push the fuel purge on the key every two seconds? that's how I kept mine from stalling.

murphy1

Seaman Apprentice

What do you mean, decarb? I took my three carbs off and pulled the needles and floats and ran carb cleaners through them, even though they already appeared clean. Should we do something else in addition? These carbs didn't seem too complicated, one needle, and a float, is there another item to be cleaned? thanks in advance

mstritt

Seaman Apprentice