yamaha 130 carb cleaning

gator79

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a pair of 1989 130 hp yamahas. one will idle fine but bogs and sputters under load. It has been sitting for 5 months and probably needs the carbs cleaned. are there any special tricks to look for on theese carbs? I am a certified auto tech and <br />have rebuilt auto carbs before, but it has been a long time, they quit using them about 20 years ago. If anyone has any tips or advice or thinks this may not be the problem please let me know.<br />thanks,<br />Mark

seahorse5

Rear Admiral
Re: yamaha 130 carb cleaning

Just like with auto carbs, use care to take them apart and clean out every passageway. First obtain the correct service manual and study closely the adjustment and synchronization section, as those are important for drivability.<br /><br />Don't have a heart attack when you see the Yamaha carb kit prices and take your model number whith you to be sure to get the right ones.<br /><br />There is an old service bulletin about drilling out the blind passageway from the fuel inlet fitting to the float valves. Ask your dealer to copy it for you. It is also reprinted almost every year in the annual Marine Technical Guide. In some cases, rust from the steel screws in the fuel pump, build up and cause intermittent restrictions. If the fuel pump is original, replace it.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

hello<br /> yep what seahorse says. be hesitant about drilling the cleanout passage. do it only if nessasary. 99%of the problems are in the idle pick-ups in the fuel bowl. that is where the solids settle as the feul evaporates. I dont recommend soaking the carb throttle body assy in a dip solution. I use CRC 06064 cleaner. the bowls can be soaked for a bit if nessasary but usually I can clean 2 carbs with one can. buy new pumps and the job is complete.<br /> good luck and keep posting

seahorse5

Rear Admiral