Yamaha 40 cooling question

wilk

Recruit
I have a 1987 Yamaha 40 3-cylinder w/aftermarket jet. I've had it out twice, both low speed outings in cool weather. I've noticed very little(if any) tell-tale stream, but the engine doesn't seem to be overheating. We keep a close watch on the tell-tale due to the jet plugging up with trash in shallow water. I'm new to jets and Yamahas(mechanically speaking). Could someone give me a brief overview of the cooling system with the jet installed(ex. where the water intake is, where water goes next, and why I might not be getting a good tell-tale stream). I did a search, but it didn't turn up much other than background info on the tell-tale. Any help you can give would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: Yamaha 40 cooling question