115 hp yamaha not getting fuel?

Evil Eye

Cadet
I have an 87 115hp Yamaha outboard. The problem that I'm having is that whenever I give it a lot of throttle, it starts killing on me and I have to back it off to keep it running. I can get it up to about 50mph sometimes but as soon as I get going that fast it starts to die. It never completely kills. It runs perfect at low speeds. It doesn't seem to be missing at all, it just sort of bogs down. It's kind of jerky. To me it seems as though it's not getting enough fuel. I took the fuel filter out and it was as clean as a whistle. I don't know if you can tell by looking at them. Also someone told me to try unscrewing the gas cap while driving to make sure it's not an airflow problem. I tried that and it did nothing. I am very new to boat motors and really don't have a clue what to try. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

TONY H

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 115 hp yamaha not getting fuel?

What is your RPM at 50 MPH? You say you are new to boating, If this is a new boat to you, the Previous owner may have downsized the prop. If the Yammy's over rev, they will cut back. It's a safety feture that they started around '87.

kevlar3000

Petty Officer 2nd Class

If all is operating in the normal rpm range, I would replace fuel hose and bulb, as well as rebuild the fuel pump. If you have an inline fuel filter try moving it below the primer bulb if it is not already there. Make sure all fuel line connections are snug as well. I would start simple and go from there.<br /><br />Good Luck!! ;)

OBMD

Seaman Apprentice

How much do you use this motor. Yamaha carbs get plugged up easily. Possible carb job in the future.

Evil Eye

Cadet